Blog menu


16 October 1:59 pm

Saturday's comeback victory in Philadelphia put Sporting Director and Head Coach Gregg Berhalter's Crew one step closer to the MLS Cup Playoffs -- in fact, the Black & Gold are about as close as you can possibly be to in without having officially clinched. Should the Crew officially qualify, Berhalter would set a club record in becoming the first Head Coach in club history to make the playoffs in his first full season as the Crew boss without any prior experience with the Black & Gold.

The full list of all full first-year Crew Head Coaches to make the postseason is below:

Year Coach Record Place Previous Experience with Crew
1997 Tom Fitzgerald 15-17-0 Fourth (out of five) 1996 (10 matches as Interim Head Coach)
2002 Greg Andrulis 11-12-5 Sixth (out of 10) 2001 (20 matches as Interim Head Coach)
2009 Robert Warzycha 13-7-10 First (out of seven) 2005 (16 matches as Interim Head Coach)
2014 Gregg Berhalter 12-10-10 (in progress) TBD N/A


15 October 12:33 pm

Matt Lampson continued his LLS Hero program during the month of September by meeting with many special Heroes and their families. To date, Lampson has honored 26 Heroes at Crew matches.

Continuing the Hero program that Lampson started during the 2013 season, the goalkeeper works with LLS to invite a child and his or her family to every home and away match during the 2014 season.

14 October 4:20 pm

Although the Crew moved little in this week's Power Rankings, the national media had complimentary words about the Black & Gold's comeback, with ESPNFC calling it "impressive."

See below for this week's ranks as well as last week's position indicated afterward. 8 (7)

ESPNFC: 8 (8) 10 (10)

Photo Credit: USA Today Sports Images

14 October 10:15 am

The Crew SC Foundation is committed to providing soccer field space for challenged youth in the Central Ohio Community. Check back for updates on our 2015 projects.


13 October 2:49 pm

Following a standout performance in the Crew's 3-2 comeback win at Philadelphia over the weekend, midfielder Tony Tchani earned Team of the Week honors for Week 31. Enjoying a breakout fifth season in MLS, the occasion marks Tchani's third Team of the Week appearance in 2014. Defender/midfielder Hector Jimenez earned an honorable mention nod for his contributions in the win.


13 October 1:59 pm

Following the Black & Gold's win in Philadelphia on Saturday, Crew Brand Ambassador Frankie Hejduk and defender Josh Williams were on hand Sunday to help kick-off CMH Fashion Week at the Westin Columbus downtown. Check out some of the photos from the event below.

For more information on CMH Fashion Week, visit or join the conversation on Twitter and Instagram using #CMHFW.

The Crew’s Josh Williams and Brand Ambassador Frankie Hejduk kick off the 2014 CMH Fashion Week on Sunday, Oct. 12 during the High Tea event at the Westin in downtown Columbus. Williams and Hejduk were outfitted in custom suits provided by Columbus’ 1812 Society. Williams and Hejduk pose with CW Columbus Stars Cameron and Alissa, Angela An from 10TV and Thomas McClure, the Founder and Director of CMH Fashion Week.
Williams poses with a couple Crew fans at the CMH Fashion Week High Tea kickoff event. Two young Crew fans who won scarves featuring the new Columbus Crew SC badge pose with Williams.
Williams and Hejduk met up with Columbus icon and CMH Fashion Week sponsor Charles Penzone.


13 October 12:05 pm

Lost in the hoopla of the Crew's dramatic and unprecedented 3-2 win over the Philadelphia Union was a milestone set by Black & Gold 'keeper Steve Clark. By making four saves against the Union, Clark hit 102 on the season and thus surpassed the 100-save milestone in his first season between the goalposts for the Crew.

In doing so, Clark became the first club goalkeeper to reach the century mark in stops since Andy Gruenebaum in 2012 (124 saves). Clark and Gruenebaum are the only two Black & Gold goalkeepers to hit 100+ saves over the club's last 10 seasons.

The all-time Crew list of 100+ save seasons is below:

Name Year Saves
Tom Presthus 2001 136
Jon Busch 2004 132
Brad Friedel 1997 131
Andy Gruenebaum 2012 124
Mark Dougherty 2000 111
Mark Dougherty 1999 106
Juergen Sommer 1998 106
Steve Clark 2014 104
Jon Busch 2003 104