Blog menu


17 May 11:27 am

Debuts Sunday, May 18, 2014, at 7:00 p.m. on Time Warner Cable SportsChannel. 

Selected by members of the press and Crew experts, "Massive Icons" breaks down the top 10 Crew players of all-time.

16 May 1:00 pm

Crew goalkeeper, Hodgkin lymphoma survivor and local spokesperson for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Matt Lampson is featured in LLS' latest commercial. 

16 May 12:31 pm


After 10 matches thus far in 2014, Steve Clark, Michael Parkhurst and Giancarlo Gonzalez have played every single minute for the Crew. Parkhurst has already left for U.S. Men’s National Team duty and Gonzalez is set to depart for FIFA World Cup camp in Costa Rica after Saturday’s match. Waylon Francis started the first 10 matches of 2014 (871 minutes) but departed ahead of Saturday. Still readily available for Columbus, Federico Higuain, Tony Tchani and Josh Williams have all started each tilt under Sporting Director and Head Coach Gregg Berhalter.


Wil Trapp and Tony Tchani each were issued a yellow card in Saturday’s 1-0 loss to Vancouver Whitecaps FC. The pair of midfielders each have four cautions and can avoid a yellow-card suspension if they play three consecutive matches without being booked. Tchani has started all 10 contests while Trapp (nine starts) returned to action last weekend following a one-match suspension for a red card at Sporting KC on May 4. Per MLS Competition Rules and Regulations, “When one yellow card away from being suspended for caution accumulation, if a player appears in three consecutive games without receiving a yellow card or disciplinary sanction, the player will have one yellow card expunged. A player may take advantage of the ‘Good Behavior’ incentive only once throughout the season.”


Ahead of next weekend’s match against Chicago, the Crew’s 2014 Circle of Honor induction polls close on Friday, May 23. Five finalists have been named for the Crew’s 2014 Circle of Honor induction process including: Mike Clark, Frankie Hejduk, Brian Maisonneuve, Guillermo Barros Schelotto and Robert Warzycha. Candidate profiles and voting information are available on

16 May 12:28 pm


Saturday’s match marks the Crew’s fourth match of May and third away from Crew Stadium ... the team is looking to snap a three-match losing streak and return to winning ways on the road ... the Crew is 2-2-1 in road tilts in 2014 and is unbeaten (1-0-1) when leading at halftime of those matches ... the Black & Gold return home for a May 24 clash against Chicago before a final road match of May at Toronto FC on May 31.


The Columbus Crew announced on Monday that three players have been named to 30-man preliminary rosters ahead of the 2014 FIFA World Cup, including club captain Michael Parkhurst (United States Men’s National Team) as well as defenders Giancarlo Gonzalez and Waylon Francis (Costa Rican National Team) ... forward Jairo Arrieta has also been named as an alternate for Costa Rica’s provisional roster ... “We are proud of our players as they prepare to represent the Columbus Crew in their respective National Team camps,” said Crew Sporting Director and Head Coach Gregg Berhalter. “The possibility of representing your nation in the FIFA World Cup is our sport’s highest honor, and we’re thrilled for our players that now have this opportunity. We wish them every success ahead of this summer’s tournament.”


Michael Parkhurst (United States) and Waylon Francis (Costa Rica) have departed for National Team camp for their respective countries, with Giancarlo Gonzalez (Costa Rica) set to leave after this weekend’s match ... therefore, Sporting Director and Head Coach Gregg Berhalter has two spots to fill on the backline this weekend.


Sporting Director and Head Coach Gregg Berhalter has several options to replace Waylon Francis and Michael Parkhurst on the backline this weekend ... in addition to veteran depth, the Crew recalled Kevan George and Ben Sweat from loan at USL-PRO affiliate Dayton Dutch Lions ... Sweat was on a game-by-game loan and started two matches while George had been with Dayton since March, earning significant playing experience.

15 May 11:56 am

15 May 11:46 am

The Dayton Dutch Lions, aided by four Crew loanees, advanced to the Third Round of the 2014 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup yesterday.

Dayton traveled to Buffalo Grove, Illinois and beat FC Schwaben AC by a score of 2-0. Brad Stuver was the starting goalkeeper for Dayton and field players Ross Friedman, Matt Walker and Aaron Schoenfeld all started. 

The Dutch Lions will next play NASL side Indy Eleven in the Third Round, which is the round immediately prior to MLS clubs entering the tournament.

Photo Credit: Dayton Dutch Lions