Match of the Year nominee: 10-man Crew steals three points in Philly unveils its final 2012 Match of the Year nominee, August 29's stoppage time winner in Philadelphia.

Trailing 1-0 to the Union in the first half following Carlos Valdes' free kick strike, Josh Williams finally got the goal that eluded him all season long to equalize just before halftime. Williams' headed goal from Federico Higuaín's free kick was the perfect boost in momentum heading into the break. However, Williams' fortunes changed in the 68th minute when he was sent off for his involvement in a scuffle with Philadelphia forward Antoine Hoppenot.

Out-possessed and out-shot playing with 10 men, Matt Lampson made four saves to keep at least one point intact in his first professional start. In stoppage time, it was Higuaín providing more magic when the Argentine sent a through ball to Justin Meram in the box on a counterattack. Meram's attempt on goal brushed off the fingertips of Zac MacMath to land at the feet of Eddie Gaven, who smashed the ball into the back of the empty net to complete the road victory.

Hear the goal call from Crew play-by-play man Neil Sika.

Was the Crew's shorthanded 2-1 stoppage time victory in Philadelphia your Match of the Year? Let your voice be heard when voting begins on Wednesday, December 12.

Match of the Year candidates:

Nominee #1 - May 23, 2012 - Seattle Sounders 0 - Columbus Crew 2 RECAP
Nominee #2 - June 30, 2012 - Columbus Crew 2 - Real Salt Lake 0 RECAP
Nominee #3 - July 24, 2012 - Columbus Crew 2 - Stoke City FC 1 RECAP
Nominee #4 - July 28, 2012 - Sporting Kansas City 1 - Columbus Crew 2 RECAP
Nominee #5 - August 25, 2012 - Columbus Crew 4 - New England Revolution 3 RECAP
Nominee #6 - August 29, 2012 - Philadelphia Union 1 - Columbus Crew 2 RECAP


Voting takes place December 12-16. The winning match will be announced on Monday, December 17.