Justin Meram Dayton Dutch Lions

MLS Reserve League Match 8: Crew downs Dayton 3-1

COLUMBUS, OH – The Columbus Crew Reserves (2-4-1, 7 points) came from behind to defeat the Dayton Dutch Lions 3-1 on Wednesday night at Crew Stadium. Second-half goals by Ben Speas, Tyson Wahl, and Tony Tchani were enough for the Black & Gold to erase a 1-0 halftime deficit.

The Crew nearly took the lead twice in the first half when Ryan Finley and Ben Speas forced Dayton’s Matt Williams into two fine saves. It was the Dutch Lions however who struck first when a quick counter-attack led to Tjeerd Westdijk tapping home a cross from Gibson Bardsley in the 42nd minute.

Dayton came close to doubling its advantage early in the second half. Westdijk again found himself in the area and tried an overhead volley after his initial attempt was blocked. Black & Gold goalkeeper Matt Lampson turned the shot around the post to keep his side just one goal down.

Lampson’s save was a crucial one because in the 68th minute substitute Aaron Schoenfeld was fouled in the Dayton box which led to a Crew penalty. Ben Speas converted the penalty to level the score at one.  Following Speas’ penalty, Dayton’s Head Coach Patrick Bal was sent off for excessively arguing the penalty decision.

Less than 10 minutes later, Speas drew a foul in the attacking third and Tyson Wahl curled a superb free-kick from 25 yards away to give the Crew a 2-1 lead.

As Dayton pushed forward it gave the Crew a chance to attack on the counter. In the 81st minute a punt from Lampson took a fortuitous bounce and left Tony Tchani one-on-one with the goalkeeper. Tchani coolly slotted the ball into the lower corner to double the Crew’s advantage. It was a lead that the Black & Gold would not relinquish.

The Crew Reserves next travel to face the Chicago Fire Reserves (1-4-0, 5 points) at the Toyota Park Practice Field on Wednesday, July 17.

Columbus Crew 3 – Dayton Dutch Lions 1
Wednesday, July 10, 2013
Venue: Columbus Crew Stadium
Referee: Andrey Castel
Assistants: James Dussendorf, Joe Kuzma
Fourth Official: Tre Gaither
Weather: 69 degrees and cloudy

DDL – Tjeerd Westdijk (Gibson Bardsley) 42’
CLB – Ben Speas (penalty) 68’
CLB – Tyson Wahl (unassisted) 76’
CLB – Tony Tchani (Matt Lampson) 81’

DDL – Tjeerd Westdijk (caution) 48’
CLB – Matias Sanchez (caution) 58’
CLB – Aaron Schoenfeld (caution) 86’

Crew: Matt Lampson; Eric Gehrig, Kevan George, Tyson Wahl, Agustin Viana (Shawn Sloan, 58’); Matias Sanchez (Wil Trapp, 58’), Tony Tchani (Drew Beckie, 84’), Ben Speas; Ethan Finlay (Konrad Warzycha, 58), Ryan Finley (Aaron Schoenfeld, 58’), Justin Meram

Substitutes not used: Daniel Withrow; Kyle Hyland

Dutch Lions: Matt Williams; Brock Granger, Gregory Preciado, Matt Wiet (Taylor Lord, 90’+), Shane Smith (Brandon Swartzendruber, 84’); Shintaro Harada, Joel Delass, Irakli Khutsidze (Remco Klaasse, 75’); Tjeerd Westdijk, Eli Garner, Gibson Bardsley (Joseph Madigan, 58’)

Substitutes not used: Sean Teepen; Eric Kissinger, Charles Herstsenberg