Gold Cup 2017

GOLD CUP | Preliminary rosters announced, Crew SC's Trapp listed for USMNT

Miami – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) revealed the preliminary 40-player rosters submitted by the 12 participating member associations for this summer’s marquee Confederation championship, the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup, which will crown a CONCACAF champion. 

A mix of rising stars including Columbus Crew SC Captain and midfielder Wil Trapp, Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund and USA), Alberth Elis (Houston Dynamo and Honduras) and Kemar Lawrence (New York Red Bulls and Jamaica), together with high-profile veterans such as Oribe Peralta (Club America and Mexico), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC and USA), and Bryan Ruiz (Sporting Clube de Portugal and Costa Rica) are among the notable inclusions to the twelve national team rosters.

In accordance with the Competition Regulations, the preliminary rosters submitted are binding and will serve as the basis for the final 23-player lists for each participating member association. As in past years, teams that qualify for the quarterfinals of this year's Gold Cup will be permitted to amend their 23-player roster following the group stage, by replacing up to six players with new players from the 40-player provisional rosters published today. 

Final 23-player rosters will be announced by CONCACAF in the final week of June. After that official announcement, only injury-related changes are allowed, until 24 hours before each team’s first match of the group stage, at which point rosters are final for the group stage. Any injury replacements must come from the preliminary 40-player rosters and must be approved by the Gold Cup Medical Committee.

The 40-player provisional rosters have been selected and submitted by the Participating Member Associations, and are published as such. In order to be eligible to play in Gold Cup, all players are subject and must fully comply with the criteria stipulated in the applicable FIFA and Gold Cup player eligibility regulations.

The 14th edition of the continental championship will begin Friday, July 7 at Red Bull Arena in the New York-New Jersey metropolitan area. That opening double header features a Group A match-up of perennial Central American rivals, Honduras and Costa Rica and 2000 champion Canada facing newcomer French Guiana.

Group B will kick off on July 8, in Nashville, with a rematch of the 2015 Gold Cup third-place match between USA and Panama, followed by Martinique and Nicaragua.

Defending champion Mexico will begin its title defense on July 9 in San Diego, versus El Salvador as the second match of a doubleheader. Curacao and Jamaica will begin play in Group C in the first match of that day.

2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup Provisional Rosters


GOALKEEPERS (6): Joe Bendik (Orlando City SC, USA); Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas, USA); Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC, USA); Bill Hamid (DC United, USA); Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids, USA); Sean Johnson (New York City FC, USA)

DEFENDERS (12): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City, USA); Steven Birnbaum (DC United, USA); Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC, USA); Omar Gonzalez (CF Pachuca, MEX); Matt Hedges (FC Dallas, USA); Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest FC, ENG); Matt Miazga (SBV Vitesse, NED); Justin Morrow (Toronto FC, CAN); Matt Polster (Chicago Fire , USA); Jonathan Spector (Orlando City SC, USA); Jorge Villafana (Santos Laguna, MEX); Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City, USA)

MIDFIELDERS (15): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana, MEX); Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union, USA); Michael Bradley (Toronto FC, CAN); Joe Corona (Club Tijuana, MEX); Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire, USA); Tommy McNamara (New York City FC, USA); Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers, USA); Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas, USA); Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union, USA); Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund, GER); Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC, USA); Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution, USA); Kenny Saief (KAA Gent, BEL); Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC, USA); Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy, USA)

FORWARDS (7): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution, USA); Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC, CAN); Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC, USA); Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City, USA); Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC, USA); CJ Sapong (Philadelphia Union, USA); Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes, USA).


LATEST CREW KITS: The official jerseys featuring Nationwide Children's Hospital are out now!