2008 MLS Cup Celebration - 8.31.2018

Columbus Crew SC announces additional details on 2008 MLS Cup celebration on September 29 at MAPFRE Stadium

COLUMBUS – Columbus Crew SC today announced additional details on the club’s celebration of the 2008 MLS Cup Championship during its home match against the Philadelphia Union on Saturday, September 29 at MAPFRE Stadium. The celebration is set to include a halftime ceremony honoring multiple members of the 2008 MLS Cup-winning squad, with the match kicking off at 7:30 p.m. ET.

All supporters who attend the home match against the Philadelphia Union on Saturday, September 29 will be able to take a photo with the 2008 MLS Cup in the MAPFRE Stadium Plaza prior to kickoff, as well as receive a 2018 team poster while supplies last.

The following members of the 2008 MLS Cup-winning squad are slated to be in attendance and will be honored during the halftime ceremony: Brian Carroll, Andy Gruenebaum, Frankie Hejduk, William Hesmer, Andy Iro, Steven Lenhart, Pat Noonan, Duncan Oughton, Gino Padula, Andrew Peterson, Robbie Rogers, Sigi Schmid and Robert Warzycha.

Note: List of players and coaches subject to change. 

Crew SC’s historic 2008 squad achieved a domestic double, winning the club’s first MLS Cup as well as the Black & Gold’s second Supporters’ Shield – an award given to the club with the best record at the end of the regular-season. Similarly, multiple members of Crew SC were recognized for their individual performances for the season: midfielder Guillermo Barros Schelotto was named the 2008 MLS Most Valuable Player; defender Chad Marshall was named the 2008 MLS Defender of the Year; and Head Coach Sigi Schmid was named the 2008 MLS Coach of the Year. The Black & Gold also had three players named to the MLS 2008 Best XI, as defender Chad Marshall and midfielders Guillermo Barros Schelotto and Robbie Rogers all earned a nod.

After finishing the 2008 regular season with a record of 17-7-6 and a club-record 57 points – six more points than any other club that season – Crew SC defeated Kansas City by an aggregate score of 3-1 over two legs in the Eastern Conference Semifinals before defeating the Chicago Fire 2-1 at MAPFRE Stadium, winning the Eastern Conference Championship and securing a spot in the 2008 MLS Cup. The Black & Gold faced the New York Red Bulls in Carson, California, with Guillermo Barros Schelotto providing three assists to help Crew SC win the 2008 MLS Cup, while also being named the 2008 MLS Cup Most Valuable Player.

Up next, Crew SC plays host to the Philadelphia Union on Saturday, September 29 (7:30 p.m. ET / CW Columbus, Spectrum Sports, BCSN2, CD102.5 FM, English and Spanish audio broadcasts available on ColumbusCrewSC.com).


LATEST CREW KITS: The official jerseys featuring Nationwide Children's Hospital are out now!