2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Set

A total of 40 teams, including 23 professional and 17 amateur clubs, will compete in the 2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup when it kicks off in June for the 97th consecutive year of the tournament.

Qualifying for the first round of the tournament is slated to complete by May 31, with the pairings announced shortly thereafter. Eight MLS teams, including the Crew, enter the tournament on June 29 in the third round. The quarterfinals will be played July 6-7, the semifinals will be played Aug. 31 or Sept. 1, and the final will be played Oct. 5.

With 40 teams participating in 2010, the tournament will begin with the first round on June 15 with all 32 lower-division teams. First-round pairings will be determined by dividing the clubs geographically into eight groups of four, with random drawings for each group. On June 22 in the second round, the 16 first-round winners will face off with eight victors moving into the third round to square off against eight MLS teams.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, which is recognized as U.S. Soccer’s National Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The tournament has crowned a champion for 96 consecutive years dating back to 1914. The Crew won the competition in 2002, giving the club its first major trophy.

Within the U.S. Open Cup framework, teams compete in one of the following four categories: professional outdoor Division I (Major League Soccer), Division II (USSF D-2 Pro League) or Division III (USL Second Division); or Amateur Division. In recent years, the Amateur Division has been comprised of the USL Premier Development League and regional qualifiers from the U.S. Adult Soccer Association.

In 2010, qualifying in the Amateur Division will also include a match between the Sonoma County Sol of the National Premier Soccer League (an affiliate of the USASA) and PSA Los Gatos Storm, a club affiliated with U.S. Club Soccer (a member organization of U.S. Soccer). The winner of that match will enter the tournament as the 17th amateur team in the first round.

The U.S. Open Cup is a single-elimination tournament, with games tied after regulation being decided in two 15-minute overtime halves. If the score is still tied after overtime, the winner is decided in a penalty kick shootout. The team that advances the furthest from each level except Division I will earn a $10,000 cash prize. The runner-up will take home $50,000, while the champion will collect $100,000. In addition, the winner will have its name engraved on the historic Dewar Challenge Trophy, the oldest trophy competed for nationally in American team sports.

2010 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Schedule
May 31                        Qualifying Deadline
June 15                        First Round: 32 lower division teams enter tournament
June 22                        Second Round: 16 First Round winners face off
June 29                        Third Round: Round 2 winners face eight MLS teams
July 6-7                       Quarterfinals: Round 3 winners
Aug. 31-Sept. 1            Semifinals: Quarterfinal winners
Oct. 5                          Final: Semifinal winners

Number of participating teams (by division):
8 - Major League Soccer (Division I)
9 - USSF D-2 Pro League (Division II)
6 - United Soccer Leagues Second Division (Division III)
8 - USL Premier Development League (Amateur)
8.5 - USASA (Amateur)
.5 - U.S. Club Soccer (Amateur) 

Total Number of Teams: 40
Total Number of Games: 39

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow Crew SC's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.