Eddie Gaven
Jim Rogash - Getty Images

Columbus Crew Protected Player List

The Columbus Crew today submitted its list of 11 players who will be protected from the 2010 MLS Expansion Draft, scheduled to take place this Wednesday, Nov. 24, at 2 p.m. ET. The Portland Timbers and Vancouver Whitecaps FC will each select 10 players during the 10-round draft.

Listed below are Expansion Draft details, followed by the Crew's protected player list and the 2010 Expansion Draft rules.

Representatives from all 18 MLS clubs will participate in an Expansion Draft teleconference which will be streamed on MLSsoccer.com during a special LIVE edition of ExtraTime Radio.  The coverage will begin at 1:45 p.m. ET.
Each current MLS club has had the opportunity to protect 11 players from their 2010 roster. Generation adidas players (who did not graduate at the end of the 2010 season) and Homegrown players are automatically protected and do not count against a team’s 11 protected roster spots. Designated Players with a no trade clause in their contract must be protected.  MLS Clubs may lose no more than two players from their 2010 roster during the Expansion Draft.
Through the Expansion Priority Draft, Portland earned the first selection in the Expansion Draft.

Emmanuel Ekpo       
Shaun Francis                       
Eddie Gaven 
William Hesmer        
Andy Iro                                
Steven Lenhart                                 
Chad Marshall                                   
Andres Mendoza                   
Danny O'Rourke                   
Emilio Renteria         
Robbie Rogers

Generation adidas Players (exempt from selection):
Dilly Duka  (Generation adidas player)


Eric Brunner
Kevin Burns
Jason Garey
Leandre Griffit
Andy Gruenebaum
Frankie Hejduk
Adam Moffat
Duncan Oughton
Gino Padula
Guillermo Barros Schelotto
Josh Williams

A complete list of the Expansion Draft rules can be found on the Expansion Draft Page

LATEST CREW KITS: The official jerseys featuring Nationwide Children's Hospital are out now!