Akron claims first-ever NCAA championship
Courtesy of Univ. of Akron

Crew recognize Akron Zips at halftime

The University of Akron's men's soccer team will be recognized at halftime on Saturday, April 30th when the Crew take on the Vancouver Whitecaps at 7:30pm.

The University of Akron men's soccer team captured the school's first team national championship in any sport last December with a 1-0 victory over Louisville at the College Cup in Santa Barbara, Calif. The 2010 Zips roster featured two NSCAA All-Americans, four Academic All-Americans, the Soccer America Player of the Year, the Mid-American Conference Player of the Year and the Hermann Trophy winner, which is presented annually to the top collegiate player in the country. Collectively, the Zips were dominant in the classroom as well in 2010, posting the eighth-highest team GPA in the nation with a mark of 3.51. Following UA's historic season, an MLS record seven Zips were selected in last January's SuperDraft, including five with the first eight selections. Akron head coach Caleb Porter, the 2009 NSCAA National Coach of the Year, has now produced 12 MLS draft picks in the last four seasons, including eight players taken in the top 10.

In addition to the Zips amazing run to the National Championship, Akron is also home to 8 Crew Academy players.

Chad Barson (named Captain)
Ben Speas
Eric Stevenson
Andrian McAdams
Thomas Schmitt
Kyle Culbertson

Two will join the Zips ain the fall:

Wil Trapp - Gahanna Lincoln High School (2010 NCSSA National High School Player of the Year)
Khai Celestin - Pickerington High School Central


Download the FREE MLS App

Follow Crew SC's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.