Crew Stadium

Crew hosts sixth annual Ohio Soccer Hall of Fame induction ceremony

COLUMBUS – The Columbus Crew, in conjunction with the Southern Ohio Adult Soccer Association (SOASA, Ohio South’s adult side) and Ohio Soccer Association North (OSAN), will host the Sixth Annual Ohio Soccer Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Banquet this Saturday, Aug. 11, at 1 p.m. in the Upper 90 Club at Crew Stadium.
Crew radio announcer Neil Sika will serve as master of ceremonies, and Lamar Hunt Jr. will deliver the keynote address at the event, which will feature the induction of six new members who have made an impact in the growth of soccer in Ohio. The Ohio Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2012 includes Thomas J. Chapman, Fritz Deutscher, Herbert A. Haller, Theresa Hirschauer, Isabelle Majerus and Michael Rado. All inductees were going to be recognized at the match against Toronto FC, originally scheduled for Aug. 11. Since the match has been rescheduled, the inductees will be recognized at a future Crew home game.
Following the event, at 5 p.m., a selection of the top adult players in the SOASA and OSAN soccer associations will take the field and face off against each other in the first ever North vs. South Ohio Soccer Hall of Fame game.
The Ohio Soccer Hall Fame was created to recognize those individuals who, by their sacrifices and extraordinary efforts, enhanced the sport of soccer to the benefit of all involved. To be considered for induction, candidates may be nominated as players, coaches, referees or administrators, and must meet the criteria for that particular category for which they are nominated.


Download the FREE MLS App

Follow Crew SC's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.