Konrad Warzycha

Reserve League Match Two: Crew falls to New York Red Bulls 3-2


LITTLE FALLS, NJ – The Columbus Crew fell 3-2 in MLS Reserve League play to the New York Red Bulls at Montclair State University Sunday morning. Both sides are now 1-1-0 this season.
Columbus took the lead in the 18th minute. Ethan Finlay made a run with the ball toward the end line and his cross was deflected out toward the penalty spot. An open Konrad Warzycha was there to head it into the back of the net.
New York responded a minute later with a goal of their own. Lloyd Sam swung a cross toward the back post and Marius Obekop tucked it in, as goalkeeper Matt Lampson got a piece of the attempt but could not prevent the ball from crossing the line. The Red Bulls then went up 2-1 in the 29th minute when Ruben Bover’s corner kick was headed into the Columbus net by the Crew's Bernardo Anor.
Bover was involved in New York’s third goal right before halftime, serving a cross-field ball into Akpan’s path. Akpan drove to goal, and was able to shrug off the pressure of a Crew defender and knocked it past Lampson.
Columbus’ Shawn Sloan pulled one back for the visiting Crew, shooting it past goalkeeper Santiago Castaño in second half stoppage time.
MLS Reserve League: New York Red Bulls 3, Columbus Crew 2
Sunday, March 31, 2013 – Montclair State University – Little Falls, NJ
Scoring Summary:
CLB: Konrad Warzycha 2 (unassisted) 18’
NY: Marius Obekop 1 (Lloyd Sam 1) 19’
NY: Bernardo Anor (own goal) 29’
NY: Andre Akpan 1 (Ruben Bover 1) 45’
CLB: Shawn Sloan 1 (unassisted) 92’+
Disciplinary Summary: 
NY: Lloyd Sam (caution) 42’
NY: Michael Bustamante (caution) 59’
CLB: Matias Sanchez (caution) 71’
NY: Eric Sa (caution) 83’
NY: Alex Muyl (caution) 90’
New York Red Bulls (1-1-0): Santiago Castaño, Brandon Barklage (Michael Bustamante 46’), Digao, Matt Miazga*, Roy Miller, Lloyd Sam (Rafhinha 59’) Ruben Bover (Eric Sa* 70’), Ian Christianson, Amando Moreno (Alex Muyl* 74’), Marius Obekop, Andre Akpan (Arun Basuljevic* 79’)
Substitutes not used: Kevin Hartman, Angelo Jack*
Columbus Crew  (1-1-0): Matt Lampson, Chad Barson, Eric Gehrig, Drew Beckie (Ryan Finley 60’), Bernardo Anor (Shawn Sloan 55’), Matias Sanchez (Kyle Hyland 74’), Konrad Warzycha, Wil Trapp, Kevan George, Ethan Finlay, Aaron Schoenfeld
Substitutes not used: Dan Withrow, Tony Tchani
Referee: Daniel Fitzgerald
Referee’s Assistants: Albert Calise, Bartek Cieslak
Fourth Official: Ash Kamel
* - Guest Player

Download the FREE MLS App

Follow Crew SC's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.