Wil Trapp US Soccer

Trapp named U.S. Soccer Young Male Athlete of the Year

CHICAGO (Nov. 27, 2013) – For their excellence at the highest levels of the sport, U.S. Soccer announced U.S. Men’s National Team forward Jozy Altidore as the 2013 Male Athlete of the Year, Abby Wambach as the 2013 Female Athlete of the Year, Wil Trapp as the 2013 Young Male Athlete of the Year, Lindsey Horan as the 2013 Young Female Athlete of the Year and Rene Renteria as the 2013 Disabled Athlete of the Year. 

The U-20 MNT midfielder Trapp becomes the 16th player to earn the Young Male Athlete of the Year award. Trapp was named the U-20 MNT captain by head coach Tab Ramos for the USA’s 1-1 draw against eventual 2013 FIFA U-20 World Cup winner France on June 24. Trapp started all five matches during the U-20 MNT’s runner-up performance at the 2013 CONCACAF U-20 Championship and earned tournament Best XI honors. Trapp’s international success translated to his first professional season in Major League Soccer as he started 15 times for his home state Columbus Crew.

1998: Josh Wolff 
1999: Ben Olsen 
2000: Landon Donovan 
2001: DaMarcus Beasley 
2002: Bobby Convey 
2003: Freddy Adu 
2004: Eddie Johnson 
2005: Benny Feilhaber 
2006: Jozy Altidore 
2007: Michael Bradley 
2008: Sacha Kljestan 
2009: Luis Gil 
2010: Gale Agbossoumonde 
2011: Brek Shea 
2012: Rubio Rubin 
2013: Wil Trapp 


Download the FREE MLS App

Follow Crew SC's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.