Gregg Berhalter

Preseason Match 2: Crew 3 – TFC 1

ORLANDO, FLA. – The Columbus Crew kicked off the 2014 Disney Pro Soccer Classic with a bang on Wednesday afternoon, as the Black & Gold jumped out to an early lead over Trillium Cup rival Toronto FC and never looked back. Aggressors for the majority of the contest, Gregg Berhalter's players claimed their second consecutive victory in preseason play, and their first against MLS opposition in 2014. 

Drawing a foul in the ninth minute just outside of TFC's area, Jairo Arrieta gave frontline partner Federico Higuain the opportunity to draw first blood, and the Argentine Designated Player did exactly that in the 10th minute of play. Higuain's perfectly placed dead ball gave veteran goalkeeper Julio Cesar no time to react, and just two minutes later Josh Williams put Cesar in the same situation, fiercely striking a loose ball on the volley that froze the Toronto netminder. 

LISTEN: Post-match audio from Berhalter, Williams and Wahl

Toronto managed to pull a goal back in the 15th minute through a Tyson Wahl own goal, but a second-half insurance goal from Adam Bedell sealed the Crew's victory. With the exception of starting goalkeeper Matt Lampson, Berhalter fielded two separate lineups in each half of play, as the Black & Gold continue to hone their fitness and tactical abilities throughout preseason. The club will continue building upon this foundation on Saturday, February 22 against the Philadelphia Union (1:00 p.m. ET / live stream on 


Columbus Crew 3 – Toronto FC 1
Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Venue: ESPN World Wide of Sports Complex (Kissimmee, Florida)
Referee: Robert Sibiga
Assistants: Joe Fletcher and Mark Cohen
Fourth Official: Mark Geiger
Weather: 77 degrees and partly sunny


CLB – Federico Higuain (unassisted) 10’
CLB – Josh Williams (unassisted) 12’
TFC – Own goal (Tyson Wahl) 14’
CLB – Adam Bedell* (Agustin Viana) 62’

*Indicates non-rostered player 





Columbus Crew: Matt Lampson; Josh Williams, Patrick Slogic*, Tyson Wahl; Waylon Francis; Wil Trapp ©, Tony Tchani; Hector Jimenez, Federico Higuain, Justin Meram; Jairo Arrieta


Columbus Crew: Matt Lampson; Chad Barson, Kevan George, Michael Parkhurst ©, Ben Sweat; Agustin Viana, Kingsley “Fifi” Baiden; Dominic Oduro, Ben Speas, Agustin Viana, Bernardo Anor; Adam Bedell*

*Indicates non-rostered player

Substitutes not used: Steve Clark, Matt Walker, Ross Friedman
Toronto FC: Julio Cesar; Nick Hagglund (Chris Mannella* 76’), Steven Caldwell (Gale Agbossoumonde 46’), Doniel Henry (Ryan Richter 66’), Justin Morrow (Ashtone Morgan 66’); Jackson (Reggie Lambe 46’), Jonathan Osorio (Jeremy Hall 66’), Michael Bradley (Kyle Bekker 66’), Alvaro Rey (Manuel Aparicio 66’), Dwayne De Rosario (Kene Eze 75’); Gilberto (Andrew Wiedeman 46’)

*Indicates non-rostered player