MP 3
USA Today Sports Images

Parkhurst earns international call-up to U.S. Men's National Team

COLUMBUS —The Columbus Crew announced today that defender Michael Parkhurst has been called-up for United States Men’s National Team duty ahead of the team’s upcoming international friendly. Under Head Coach Jurgen Klinsmann, the United States takes on Mexico on Wednesday, April 2 at the University of Phoenix Stadium (11:00 p.m. ET / ESPN, WatchESPN, UniMas). The meeting is the first between the two clubs since the U.S. qualified for this summer’s FIFA World Cup in the 2-0 win at Crew Stadium over El Tri on September 10, 2013. 

Parkhurst will depart for international duty following the Crew’s Saturday, March 29 meeting at Seattle Sounders FC at CenturyLink Field (10:00 p.m. ET / Time Warner Cable SportsChannel).

Following the U.S. match, Parkhurst is set to join the Crew ahead of its first 2014 Trillium Cup meeting, presented by Scotts, against Toronto FC when the Reds visit Crew Stadium on Saturday, April 5.

Parkhurst, the Crew’s 2014 club captain, has represented the United States internationally on the senior roster since 2007 and has earned 24 caps. His most recent cap came on February 1 in a 90-minute performance against Korea Republic in the first friendly match of 2014 for the Stars and Stripes. His National Team debut came in a CONCACAF Gold Cup match against Trinidad & Tobago on June 9, 2007. Parkhurst was a member of the squad that took home the 2007 and 2013 Gold Cup titles as well as the side that finished runner-up in the 2009 tournament. He also laced-up for the U.S. Olympic Team in the group stage during the 2008 Summer Olympic Games in Beijing, China.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake) 

DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Michael Orozco (Puebla), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (4): Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Eddie Johnson (D.C. United), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)


Download the FREE MLS App

Follow Crew SC's scores, updates, highlights, analysis and more.