Kei Kamara
USA Today Sports Images

Preseason Match Recap: Columbus Crew SC 2 - Costa Rica Under-23 0 (IMG Suncoast Pro Classic)

Columbus Crew SC defeated the Costa Rica Under-23 side by a 2-0 final in Group Stage play at the IMG Suncoast Pro Classic. The contest took place at IMG Academy Field on Saturday afternoon, with Kei Kamara and Federico Higuain finding the back of the net for Crew SC.

The Black & Gold struck for a pair of goals within two minutes of one another in the first half. Kamara opened the scoring with a headed finish following a Waylon Francis cross from the left flank. Shortly afterward, Higuain doubled Crew SC's advantage after collecting a pass in the box from Ethan Finlay and roofing a shot over the goalkeeper. Kamara helped create the play with a through ball to Finlay down the right side.

The victory gives Crew SC a 2-0-0 start at the IMG Suncoast Pro Classic following the club's 7-0 win over London United to begin the tournament. The Black & Gold are set to close out the Group Stage on Wednesday afternoon at 5:00 p.m. ET against the Philadelphia Union.


Columbus Crew SC 2 – Costa Rica Under-23s 0
Saturday, February 21, 2015

Venue: IMG Academy Field, Bradenton, Florida
Referee: Kris Tencil
Assistants: Shawn Heart, Brian Dunn
Weather: 72 degrees and sunny


CLB – Kei Kamara (Waylon Francis) 16'

CLB – Federico Higuain (Ethan Finlay) 18'


CRC – Yosimar Alexis Clark (yellow card) 5'

CRC – Yosimar Alexis Clark (second yellow, red card) 39'


Columbus Crew SC: Steve Clark; Hector Jimenez (Chad Barson 62'), Michael Parkhurst © (Kalen Ryden** 62'), Emanuel Pogatetz (Tyson Wahl 62'), Waylon Francis (Chris Klute 62'); Wil Trapp (Mohammed Saeid 62'), Tony Tchani (Kevan George 62'); Ethan Finlay (Ben Speas 62'), Federico Higuain (Ben Swanson 62'), Justin Meram (Kristinn Steindorsson 62'); Kei Kamara (Adam Bedell 46') (Sagi Lev-Ari** 78')

**indicates un-signed MLS SuperDraft selection

Costa Rica U-23s (starters): Alvin Jamier Bennett, Randy Yormein Chirino, Yosimar Alexis Clark, Kenneth Dixon, Bryan Alexis Espinoza, Dylan Armando Flores, Ariel Lassiter, Luis Jose Sequeira, Jose Eduardo Sosa, Jesus Ignacio Vargas, Daniel Alberto Zamora

INAUGURAL STADIUM KIT: Purchase an authentic Inaugural Stadium Kit online or pick it up in-person at the Crew SC Shop!