MATCH NOTES: Crew SC at Houston Dynamo


Columbus Crew SC offered the following statements on the news that Major League Soccer and the MLS Players Union have reached an agreement in principle on a new Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA): 

Statement from Crew SC Investor-Operator and Chairman Anthony Precourt: “We are pleased that a new Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) has been reached in principle between Major League Soccer and the MLS Players Union. This is positive news for fans of this sport in North America, and of course in Columbus. As our team turns its attention to the 2015 MLS campaign, Columbus Crew SC strives to continue to be successful on and off the pitch, combining good business and good soccer. We look forward to delivering a first-class experience in 2015 for supporters and partners at MAPFRE Stadium and we eagerly anticipate beginning our historic 20th year in the League.” 

Statement from Crew SC Sporting Director and Head Coach Gregg Berhalter: “This is great news for soccer fans across North America. We are excited to start the season and are grateful for the hard work put in by both parties in their efforts to reach an agreement.” 

Statement from club representative to the MLS Players Union Ethan Finlay: “We are pleased to have reached a new five year collective bargaining agreement with the League. The players are excited to turn our focus back to the field.” 


Columbus Crew SC is one of ten charter clubs in Major League Soccer, competing in the League since 1996. 2015 will mark the club’s historic 20th season ... the Black & Gold have won five major trophies in club history: MLS Cup (2008), the MLS Supporters’ Shield (2004, 2008, 2009) and the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup (2002). 


2015 will mark the club’s first as Columbus Crew SC after undergoing a brand evolution over the offseason ... the club revealed its new badge and brand at a downtown event in Columbus last October ... the brand reveal campaign earned several awards, including helping Crew SC earn the MLS Executive Award for Marketing Team of the Year as well as 12 Columbus American Marketing Association Achievement in Marketing (AIM) Awards. 


In 2014, Crew SC midfielders Federico Higuain and Ethan Finlay each recorded 11 goals and seven assists ... the two were just one of four duos across the League to achieve that feat. 

BE A PART OF HISTORY: Become a 2020 Season Ticket Member to SECURE YOUR SEAT in the new Downtown Stadium!