Supporters USAvGUA
Greg Bartram

MAPFRE Stadium wins 2015 Sports Turf Managers Association Field of the Year Award

MAPFRE Stadium today announced that its pitch has been named as a 2015 winner of a Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA) Field of the Year Award.

Under the supervision of Director of Grounds Weston Appelfeller, Certified Sports Field Manager (CSFM), the MAPFRE Stadium field has now received this honor twice in the last three years, as well as three times in the previous six years (2010, 2013, 2015). Consistently heralded by Crew SC players, the pitch at MAPFRE Stadium is maintained by Appelfeller and his team, which includes Ben Jackson, CSFM, Andrew Northeim and Nick Roe.

"Weston and his team do a fantastic job of maintaining our field to the highest standard. His dedication and attention to detail help make our pitch the best in Major League Soccer and they're certainly deserving recipients of this honor," said Columbus Crew SC Sporting Director and Head Coach Gregg Berhalter. "The immaculate field conditions are integral for our playing style and so on behalf of the club, we can't thank the stadium operations team enough for all they do to make MAPFRE Stadium a place we're proud to call home."

WATCH: Appelfeller and his team profiled on Time Warner Cable SportsChannel's "Access: Crew SC" -

The STMA Field of the Year Awards have been presented since 1992 to members who manage baseball, football, soccer, softball and other sporting grounds at the professional, collegiate, school and parks and recreation level. MAPFRE Stadium was one of two winners in the "Professional" category, joining Ed Smith Stadium in Sarasota, Florida.

Columbus Crew SC is set to travel to Red Bull Arena this weekend for the Second Leg of the Eastern Conference Championship on Sunday, November 29 (7:30 p.m. ET / FS1, CD 102.5, 103.1 FM La Mega). The Black & Gold are looking to advance to MLS Cup for the second time in club history and the first time since 2008.