Ellix, Stojkovic to compete in FIFA eClub World Cup qualifying

The FIFA eClub World Cup is back in 2019 and Columbus Crew SC’s Nenad Stojkovic and Graham Ellix are looking to battle it out and compete against the very best eFootball clubs and players from around the world starting Wednesday, January 9.

Last year, Crew SC was the only MLS club to participate, with Stojkovic and Hasib Zulfic finishing second to Tijuana after a tiebreaker on total goals.

With a new format introduced in 2018 to enable clubs to compete as two-player teams, the event is known as the official eFootball team competition hosted by FIFA. Here is the breakdown of the competition and how to follow:



Online qualification runs from January 7-11, with the 2019 FIFA eClub World Cup taking place February 9-10.

Competitive Format:

  • Round Robin Groups, one match per team.
  • Each match is played as one Xbox and one PlayStation game, concurrently.
  • The total aggregate score from both games is calculated to determine the final results of the whole match.
  • All match-ups will be played in the FIFA 19 Ultimate Team Friendly Season mode.
  • The top 2 teams of the group qualify to the offline event.

Crew SC will compete in the North America qualifier. After successfully competing in the regional online qualifying matches, 15 qualified teams will join the defending champions Brøndby IF at the 2019 FIFA eClub World Cup. Each team will compete with two players - one on Xbox and one on PlayStation.

How to follow:

Fans can view live updates and schedule information about Crew SC on the North America qualifier page. Additionally, all live results will be available on the tournament home page.


Prize Money
1st place: USD $40,000
2nd place: USD $20,000
3rd – 4th place: USD $10,000
5th – 8th place: USD $2,000
9th – 16th place: USD $1,500
EA SPORTS Global Series points
1st place: 1,500
2nd place: 850
3rd – 4th place: 625
5th – 8th place: 450
9th – 16th place: 275

The total prize pool is $100,000, while each of the winning players will take home 1,500 Global Series Points on the race to the FIFA eWorld Cup in the summer of 2019. Prize money is allocated per team and Global Series points are allocated per player.


Launched in 2017, the competition is also part of the 2019 Global Series and one of the eight major competitive FIFA tournaments. Brøndby IF has won both editions so far, first in London in 2017 before taking the crown in Paris in 2018.


LIVE YOUR COLORS: Follow Crew SC on the MLS App - The official MLS app gets a major update for 2019, making it easier than ever to keep up with your favorite club, check standings, watch videos and much more.