About MAPFRE Stadium

Born from the legacy of the 1994 FIFA World Cup held in the United States, Major League Soccer wanted to harness the momentum from what was considered to be the most successful World Cup in soccer history.

On June 15, 1994, Columbus, Ohio was presented with the first Major League Soccer (MLS) club, becoming the first of the original ten (10) clubs.  Ohio’s capital city was chosen due to its more than 11,500 season ticket deposits and plans to build a soccer-specific stadium, the first soccer-specific stadium in the United States.

The then-Crew Stadium was christened on May 15, 1999, with a 2-0 win over the New England Revolution, forever etching its place in American sports history as the country’s first soccer-specific stadium. The inaugural match at the venue was played in front of a crowd of 24,741.  MLS Commissioner at the time, Doug Logan, hailed the match as a “relaunching of the league”; which established the Black & Gold as one of the top organizations in Major League Soccer both on and off the field.

On October 8, 2014 the Columbus Crew unveiled its new brand, badge and name; evolving from Columbus Crew to Columbus Crew SC.  Crew SC's new brand pillars: original, energetic and authentically Columbus, establishes the club's connection to the city of Columbus, distinguishes itself as a soccer club, represents the origins and history of the club, and celebrates the passion and energy of its fans.

In the past twenty years, MLS has established itself as a top three professional sports league in America, based on average attendance; and among the top five in all professional sports.  In 2015, Major League Soccer will consist of 20 teams in 14 states and two countries, with 14 soccer-specific stadiums.  In 2017, the League will expand to 22 teams, in 16 soccer-specific stadiums.