Crew vs. Dayton
Jeremi Blurton

Friendly Recap: Crew defeats USL-PRO affiliate Dayton 2-0 in friendly

WEST CARROLLTON, Ohio – In a friendly match between affiliate clubs, the Columbus Crew defeated USL-PRO side Dayton Dutch Lions 2-0 on Tuesday night at Dayton Outpatient Center Stadium. Up 2-0 within the fourth minute behind a Dutch Lion own goal and an Ethan Finlay tally, Sporting Director and Head Coach Gregg Berhalter’s side held on for the final 86 minutes of exhibition action.

The Black & Gold got on the board within the first 60 seconds as Dayton’s Joel DeLass suffered an own goal in the first minute before Ethan Finlay buried a rebound chance in the fourth minute to give the visitors an early 2-0 lead. Later in the half, Crew goalkeeper Matt Lampson made a pair of key saves to keep the lead after 45 minutes.

In the second half, six Crew players saw substitute action. The Crew’s Brad Stuver – who is on-loan with Dayton – made a pair of point-blank saves on Black & Gold midfielder Daniel Paladini in the 68th-minute to keep the home side within striking distance, but the 2-0 scoreline stood at the final whistle. In addition to Stuver, Crew loanees Aaron Schoenfeld and Matt Walker also took the field for Dayton.

The Crew returns to Major League Soccer action with a test against the Chicago Fire on Saturday, May 24 at Crew Stadium.







Columbus Crew 2 – Dayton Dutch Lions 0

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Venue: DOC Stadium, West Carrollton, Ohio

Referee: Andrew Castel

Assistant Referees: Cory Richardson, Brandon Artis

Fourth: Maggie Short

Attendance: 1,082

Weather: 77 degrees and partly cloudy



CLB – Joel DeLass (own goal) 1’

CLB – Ethan Finlay (unassisted) 4’






Columbus Crew: Matt Lampson (Daniel Withrow* 70’); Chad Barson (Hector Jimenez 45’), Eric Gehrig, Tyson Wahl (Kevan George 45’), Ben Sweat; Ethan Finlay, Daniel Paladini, Wil Trapp © (Fifi Baiden 45’), Justin Meram (Bernardo Anor 45’); Ben Speas, Dominic Oduro (Adam Bedell 45’)

* - Indicates non-rostered player


Dayton Dutch Lions: Matt Williams; Sebastien Thuriere, Joel DeLass ©, Brock Granger, Shane Smith; Shintaro Harada, Irakli Khutsidze, David Clemens; Eli Garner, Matt Walker, Aaron Schoenfeld

Substitutes used: Brad Stuver; Eric Kissinger, Jesjua Angoy Cruyff, Cameron Vickers, Eddie Hertsenberg, Guilherme Felix, Jackson Beckham da Silva, Joseph Broekhuizen, Taylor Bowlin, Yannick Smith, Raphael Basso, Kyle Knotek, Osman Mendez