Kristinn Steindorsson
USA Today Sports Images

Preseason Match Recap: Columbus Crew SC 4 - Oklahoma City Energy FC 1 (IMG Suncoast Pro Classic)

Columbus Crew SC defeated Oklahoma City Energy FC by a 4-1 final in the Third Place match at the IMG Suncoast Pro Classic. Kristinn Steindorsson, Ethan Finlay, Federico Higuain and Kei Kamara all scored to lead the Black & Gold to a victory at IMG Academy Stadium on Saturday evening.

Columbus took a 2-0 lead to the locker room after the opening 45 minutes courtesy of goals from Steindorsson and Finlay just two minutes apart. In the 32nd minute, the Icelander ripped home a rebound from a Higuain shot to open the scoring. In the 34th minute, Finlay doubled the lead with service from Kei Kamara.

In the second half, Higuain made it 3-0 himself after collecting a loose ball, dancing around the penalty area and curling a high shot into the corner of the net. OKC's Daniel Gonzalez made it 3-1, but Kamara capped off the victory with a goal in the 87th minute to bring the match to its final scoreline of 4-1.

The win gave Crew SC third place in the IMG Suncoast Pro Classic and also represented the final preseason contest for the club ahead of the 2015 Major League Soccer regular season.


Columbus Crew SC 4 – Oklahoma City Energy 1
Saturday, February 28, 2015
Venue: IMG Academy Stadium, Bradenton, Florida
Weather: 70 degrees and cloudy


CLB – Kristinn Steindorsson (unassisted) 32'

CLB – Ethan Finlay (Kei Kamara) 34'

CLB – Federico Higuain (unassisted) 65'

OKC – Daniel Gonzalez (unassisted) 78'

CLB – Kei Kamara (unassisted) 87'




Columbus Crew SC: Steve Clark; Hector Jimenez, Michael Parkhurst ©, Emanuel Pogatetz, Waylon Francis (Kalen Ryden** 54'); Wil Trapp, Tony Tchani; Ethan Finlay, Federico Higuain, Kristinn Steindorsson (Justin Meram 72'); Kei Kamara

**indicates un-signed MLS SuperDraft selection

Oklahoma City Energy: Ray Clark; Michael Thomas, Peabo Doue (Michael Harris 61'), Mark Howard, Jacob VanCompernolle (Cyprian Hedrick 69'); Gareth Evans, Casey Townsend, Chuy Sanchez (Christian Duke 38'); Sebastian Dalgaard (Daniel Gonzalez 49'), Omar Daley (Danny Delgado 85'), Danni König (Kyle Greig 46')